Why you need to read your Bible on a daily basis?

1 Jan

Often times we play small as when we allow our selves to either depend on the Sunday sermons alone on the little snippets of scripture that we read in a few other places or on the social media pages of our friends and churches. 

Deuteronomy 8:3…teaches that man shall not live on bread alone but on every Word that comes from the Mouth of God. This scripture does not condemn eating bread (food) but God is saying that eating food alone is not enough…that is playing small but true life comes from feeding on the Word that comes from the Mouth of God. We all know as Christians that Bible is the Word of God. Since we eat food every day we should literary eat/read the Word of God on a daily basis as well since as we just read it is not enough for us to live on bread alone but we need the Word of God so that we can live life fully.

There are also a couple of other scriptures that emphasize the reading of the Word. One quick one is John 8:31-32. “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples/followers.Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” Jesus was in short saying for you to be my real follower you need to hold onto His teaching. And we all know you can NEVER hold onto what you do not know. So you need to read His Word and as we saw in the above paragraph it should be on a daily basis.

I just want to share a personal testimony about how the Word of God saved my life. 

“In 2010 while I was living in the New York, I went to bed after I had hang with my friends at a Halloween party. At around 2:30 am during my sleep, something black just started strangling me and i kept pushing it off my neck but all in vain. After a while when I had failed to overcome it and it was taking my life I remembered the only Bible verse I knew at the time and mentioned it there and then. It was No weapon formed against me shall prosper… it comes from  Isaiah 54:17. The black thing left me at once and when I got up, I noticed that my bedsheets had be tied round my neck and something was actually strangling me physically and I got saved my just on bible verse. “

Now, just imagine how much power you would have if you know the entire Bible… that would be a  lot of power. I believe I was being strangled by a demon and I used the Sword (Ephesians 6:17) (Word of God) to fight it simply… and clearly I had failed to fight it physically. I needed something more powerful than just my physical strength and that is the Word of God. The bible us the battles we fight as Christians. Ephesians 6:12. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood,but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 

And the Word goes ahead to teach us how to fight these battles. Ephesians 6:13-17. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

So my friend, you need to read the Word of God on a daily basis. You will be amazed at how much power is in the Word of God, how many promises you are missing out on and how much prophesy is in the Word and how some of the current events are clearly fulfilling Bible prophesy and as such you will know the truth and it shall set you free.

I have a develop Bible reading guide that you can use to guide you as you read the Word daily. You can email here: akakinda@gmail.com or find me on Facebook so I can share it with you.

 

Leave a Reply

