The Christian God Explained!!

27 Dec

All my life I have always wondered who is God? What does God call Himself? Does He have a single Name we can use to refer to Him? What is He capable of doing for me? What can He do? All these questions kept going through my mind and have always wondered if there is any biblical answer to these.

Reading through Exodus 3:13-15. God tells us exactly who He is and how He describes Himself. I actually believe this is the Best Description of God. Lets look at it here:

Moses said to God, ” Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is His Name? Then what shall I tell them?

 

God said to Moses, ” I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you’

 

God also said to Moses, ” Say to the Israelites, ‘ The LORD , the God of your fathers- the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob-has sent me.” This is My Name for ever, the Name by which I am to be remembered from Generation to Generation.

Exodus 3:13-15

 

God is saying in this passage that Whatever I am to you is what I am called i.e. My Name is whatever I am at the time I am it. In other words, God is saying that He is all-sufficiency, and His Name differs on what our need is at that particular time. If you need bread then pray, ‘Father, You are my Bread.’ When we acknowledge that God is our Provider and Sustenance then He becomes Bread to us. If you are thirsty, pray ‘Father, You are my Water.’ If you need healing, pray ‘Father, You are my Healing.’ If you need provisions, pray ‘Father, You are my Provider.’ In other words, God is saying I am your All. I am your Everything. Whatever you need, when you need it Just call on My Name and I am there for you.

He actually goes on to affirm that He is a personal God who meets individual human needs when He says He is a God of real people- Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. This clearly shows us that God desires to be our personal God and to meet our individual needs, no matter what they are and when they occur. This is further evident through the various Names we see being used to refer to God in the Bible. Some of these include: a consuming fire (Deut 4:24), the shadow of a great rock in a weary land (Isaiah 32:2), shepherd (Psalms 23:1) etc.

All these Names are used to refer to God because they reflect a specific aspect of God’s Nature and Character yet God’s overarching name, I AM, encompasses all His Nature and Attributes.

Glory to God!!!

Written with exacts from Understanding the Purpose and Power of Prayer by Dr. Myles Munroe

Leave a Reply

